Mission & Leadership


The Trust is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization and donations to it are tax-deductible. We seek your support in pursuing our goal to establish a dedicated tourist railroad based on the Colebrookdale Railroad. Among the Trust's short- and long-term objectives toward that goal:

  • Completion of an implementation plan
  • Acquisition and restoration of historic passenger equipment of the 1900-1916 era
  • Construction of passenger facilities in Boyertown and Pottstown
  • Integration of passenger service with local events and attractions
  • Provision of dining and lounge, and open car service on Colebrookdale trains
  • Operation of a steam locomotive
  • Assist the County of Berks and the designated freight operator in raising funds to maintain and preserve the line

Additionally, the Trust may assist in the operation of a number of trial-run excursions along the line in concert with the designated operator, the Eastern Berks Gateway Railroad.

The Trust is seeking volunteers to assist in fundraising and planning. If you would like to join the effort, contact us.


Board of Directors

Nathaniel C. Guest, Esq.

A native of Pottstown, Nathaniel Guest is an attorney at Wade, Goldstein, Landau, Abruzzo, in Berwyn, PA. He holds a masters degree in historic preservation planning from Cornell, where he teaches preservation law, economics, advocacy, and ethics. He is the Preservation Programs Director and Grants Chairman for the National Railway Historical Society and serves on the Governance Committee of the RR Museum of PA. He is a board member of Preservation PA and the Schuylkill River National Heritage Area. He is the president of the Keystone Marker Trust, which restores the state's century-old town markers. He was the founding member of the Pennhurst Memorial and Preservation Alliance and has been a long-time engineer and conductor on the Strasburg Railroad. He volunteers his time with a variety of preservation causes and the Montgomery County SPCA. He is a magna cum laude graduate of Cornell University, and a cum laude graduate of the Temple University School of Law.

James W. Lilly

Jim Lilly is the Director of Strategic Planning & Development at the National Railway Historical Society, D.C. Chapter. He served as the Past President and has been a long-time member and volunteer. His responsibilities have included mechanical officer training, writing grant applications, and strategic development. He was awarded the Bent Spike Award in 2000 and the Double Gold Bent Spike Award in 2013 for his significant achievements and contributions.

Robert A. Wade, Esq.

A resident of Pottstown, Robert Wade is an attorney at Wade, Goldstein, Landau, and Abruzzo and has practiced law in the Philadelphia area for more than thirty years. Mr. Wade's practice has been primarily focused on the business, legal, and regulatory aspects of health care and his involvement includes contract matters, enterprise valuation, and start-ups, as well as estate planning and estate and trust administration. Mr. Wade is a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard Law School, and a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the College of William and Mary. He is a member of the American Bar Association, Pennsylvania Bar Association, Philadelphia Bar Association, Philadelphia Estate Planning Council, American Health Lawyers Association, and the Medical Group Management Association. He is the recipient of the American Academy of Ophthalmology's Senior Achievement Award and has been listed among Who's Who in American Law, Who’s Who in America, and Who’s Who in the World. He is active with the First Presbyterian Church in Pottstown and a regular volunteer with the Crop Walk.

George Wausnock

George Wausnock recently retired after more than 40 years as a State Farm insurance agent in Pottstown, Pennsylvania. He is co-founder of Preservation Pottstown and has worked more than 25 years to preserve the heritage of the community. He is the President to the Board of the Carousel at Pottstown and serves on the Board of Directors of Save Our Lands, Save Our Towns. He is a frequent volunteer at the Pottstown Memorial Medical Center.

Board of Directors

  • Nathaniel C. Guest, Esq.
  • James W. Lilly
  • Richard Tobin
  • Robert A. Wade, Esq.
  • George Wausnock
  • Loretta Wolf
  • John (Jake) Lea